Extracting Text from PDFs; Doing OCR; all within R

OCR with R

I am a huge fan of Ben Marwick. He has so many useful pieces of code for the programming archaeologist or historian!

Edit July 17 1.20 pm: Mea culpa: I originally titled this post, ‘Doing OCR within R’. But, what I’m describing below – that’s not OCR. That’s extracting text from pdfs. It’s very fast and efficient, but it’s not OCR. So, brain fart. But I leave the remainder of the post as it was. For command line OCR (really, actual OCR) on a Mac, see the link to Ben Schmidt’s piece at the bottom. Sorry.

Edit July 17 10 pm: I am now an even bigger fan of Ben’s. He’s updated his script to either a) perform OCR by calling Tesseract from within R or b) grab the text layer from a pdf image. So this post no longer misleads. Thank you Ben!

Object Character Recognition, or OCR, is…

View original post 571 more words

